Arts@Clark Exhibit

The New Normal – August 9, 2020

In this moment of social-distancing, the “new normal” is a term we hear again and again.  What does it mean to be “normal” in this time of constant change, anxiety and separation from the things that we hold dear?  How can we find new ways to connect with each other?  Artists are uniquely charged with being a lens to the current cultural, political and social experience of our times.  This experience is one of isolation, division and fear.  However, it can also be a call for hope, optimism for the future and a deep desire to connect with others. With this in mind, Clark Memorial Library presented public art on the theme of the “New Normal.” 

Exhibit Flyer Available Here

  Curated by Library Director Gayle Bogel, and co-chairs of  this exhibit: local artists Liz Scott, and James Vanderberg.  The following twenty artists from Bethany and surrounding  towns participated: Sarah Bachenheimer, Brenda Burt, Seth Callander, Diane Chandler, Wendy Frieden, Gretchen Gara, Martha German, Felicia Hartman, Helen Hawes, Kieran Hyland, Wendy Kohli, Candace Klein, Cathy Lenoci, Carla Lindsey, Todd Lyon, Roberta Scott, Rosemary Serfilippi, Roseanne Shea, Liz Scott, and James Vanderberg.  

This summer marked our first venture toward a public art exhibit on the grounds of the library, which we are hoping will become an annual event.

ArtistContact Information
Sarah Bachenheimerbach.sarabeth@gmail.com / artbysarahbach@instagram.com
Brenda Burtbaburt@att.net
Seth Callandersethcallander@gmail.com / http://sethcallander.com
Diane Chandlerdchandler1@snet.net     
Wendy Friedenwendy.frieden@yahoo.com
Gretchen Garaghgara@yahoo.com
Martha (Muffy) Germanmuffykg@aol.com
Felicia Hartmanfi.hartman123@gmail.com
Helen Haweshahbrook@gmail.com
Kieran Hylandkjhyland9@aol.com
Candace Kleincandaceklein@me.com
Wendy Kohliwendykohli@gmail.com
Cathy Lenociclen3@sbcglobal.net
Carla Lindseysajbaby10@yahoo.comwww.carlasspiritualart.com
Todd Lyoncowardlylyon@gmail.com
Liz Scottehscott1@comcast.net
Roberta Scottrobertascott230@gmail.com,  www.robertascott.art
Rosemary Serfilippirdserfilippi@sbcglobal.net
James Vanderbergwww.jamesvanderberg.com james@jamesvanderberg.com @vanderbergstudio

xx